Wow Scott, you really need to get your marketing guys or whomever talked you into this and bang their heads together (if this includes yourself, I'm all for it). What a woeful self promotion. I'm embarrassed for you.
I think it's a fairly intelligent way to advertise your business. Scott may have lost some people who think it was unethical but they'll be a lot more vocal than those who thought the website was good. You'll always get more complaints than you will complements in any industry, cartooning included.
On a vaguely related note: has anyone else here been to www.comparethemeerkat.com yet? I don't know if the ads are running internationally but it's a much better site than www.comparethemarket.com, the site it's advertising.
I wrote to the support: "Was this application really made by a cartoon character?" and got this answer:
"Thank you for your email. Actually, no it wasn't but I guess you already knew
that. The DilbertFiles.com service has been developed by a Dutch company that
have a lot of experience building web applications.
Please let me know if you have any other questions."
OK, no Dilbert. BTW: The company behind is www.sendyourfiles.com
while waiting for the site to load up, I always imagine Scott has been abducted by elbonian terrorists, who use pre-industrial age servers to host the site. As dilbertfiles.com appears to be not secure, I think I'm right